Prologue for The Introduction :)

Life is so unexpected, especially when you’re a teenager. Nothing ever happens when or how you plan it. I never thought at seventeen I would have fallen in love, and not just any type of love I mean the forever kind of love. The through thick and thin, through distance and time type of love. I didn’t know it at the time, at least not until a little later in life, but I should have suspected how great our love was because we weren’t supposed to be, but we inevitably became… “Us”. But I wish I knew that this type love of wasn’t as easy as those fabricated love story that are sold in those happily-ever-after romance books. Especially, when the girl that you love tries her hardest to persuade you that we just can’t be, because of where her loyalties lie. Knowing what I know now you would think I wouldn’t do it again, but I would do it in a heartbeat just to get a chance to hold her in my arms. She’s worth it all. All the heartbreak and the tears, she’s worth it…

“Why are you ignoring me, Ari?”

“I’m not.” She says softly.

I pull her hair and say, “Yeah, you are. What did I do?”

She looks at me with sad eyes and says, “You didn’t do anything Sky. That’s the problem.”

Confused I ask, “What are you talking about?”

“That day at the diner….It was too much for me to handle. I like you. I actually like you a lot more than I should. You are one of my closest friends, but when you smile at me with those intense eyes and those beautiful dimples I sometimes wish you were more. But I know that it can never happen.”

I hold my breath because of the emotion in her voice. I want to know why, but I’m afraid to ask. But I do it anyways.  “Why Ari? Why can’t we just be together?”

“B-because she loves you and I love her. They are the only family I have left. I can’t betray her like that. Please don’t ask me to!” She says with tears in her voice.

“Does she love you?”

“Y-yes! We’ve been best friends since we were in the womb. How can you ask me that?” She says angrily.

Determined I say, “Then if she loves you she would want you to be happy. She would want you to be with someone who would take care of you and who would give themselves to you mind, body and soul.”

“But what if she wants the same thing with you? What then?”

Leave a Reply

Member of The Internet Defense League

