How Does A New Author Get Their Name Out?

So, I’m a new Indie author. My current genre is YA/Romance. In the future, I would like to venture onto NA/Romance or Contemporary Romance.

With so many different authors in this genre it’s quite hard to breakthrough. It’s even harder for readers to trust you and take a leap and read new Indie Authors. So, my question is, what should a new author do to get their names out there? What should new authors do to get people to buy their books?

IMG_0402

After the shock that your new book has not skyrocketed into the bestsellers list; or hasn’t become the next Twilight or Fifty Shades wears off. I would like to congratulate you into the reality of being an author in the 21st century.

:O

So, really what should I do? Am I doing things right? (Prepare for shameless plugs).

I’ve scowered the internet for persons to review my books. Some, persons I’ve sent my book to and I’ve heard crickets *sigh*. Some, have me on a waiting list. (I can deal with that). But, some have been great and have reviewed my books within a few days/weeks. (Thank you for that. You guys know who you are.)

I have a contest on my Facebook page. Great prize by the way. I’m giving away a Kindle.

Contest Time!

Contest Time!

Facebook contest prize

Facebook contest prize

I have not one, but two giveaways on Goodreads.

The Introduction

Goodreads Book Giveaway

The Introduction by Isabelle Connors

The Introduction

by Isabelle Connors

Giveaway ends October 01, 2015.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter Giveaway

The Heartbreak

Goodreads Book Giveaway

The Heartbreak by Isabelle Connors

The Heartbreak

by Isabelle Connors

Giveaway ends November 13, 2015.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter Giveaway

I also did a giveaway on http://www.librarything.com. This is a great site if you want to do a giveaway with an e-book. I think I’ve given almost a hundred books away. But, I’ve only gotten two reviews so far. Still waiting!

I’ve put my books on sale. They are both on sale for 99 pennies everywhere. (Buy links below).

The Introduction

 The Heartbreak
I’ve done blog interviews. I’ve given my books to countless bloggers for reviews. I’ve sent out countless e-mails, some answered and some not. I have signed up for countless free and paid advertisemnet. Although I’m no major star, when I google myself (I had to check Lol) my visiblity isn’t too bad. But, it can be bettter.
So, my question is what else should I or any other new authors do to get our names out there. I know for sure if I ventured into erotica my sales would be a whole lot better, but that’s not what I want to write. So, since that’s not what I write although I I like to read it (don’t judge me) it’s not what I write. So give me some advice. I’m all ears. Comment here or find me on any of my social media accounts and give me your thoughts, ideas or just say hi. I enjoy meeting new people.
FaceBook:http://bitly.com/1CtIC7N
GoodReads:  http://bitly.com/1Lt0vuH
Twitter: @izzyconnors1
Instagram: izzyconnors1
YouTube: http://bit.ly/1CtJJ7y
Newsletter: http://bitly.com/1KUIl4A

Also, please continue to support me whether it’s buying my book, sharing the links, or just telling someone about the series. Every little bit helps. So, thank you in advance! #PayItForward #SupIndieAuthors #Oneclick

Remember life is too short to worry about the small things. Love, live, and laugh.

Until next time.

-Izzy xoxo

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liz Crowe
    Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:11:14

    Nice post. Hang in there. Oh and if you figure it out, let me know! I have 31 books and lots of lovely followers, likes, and even a fair number of reviews across the board. However…. It remains frustrating from a money making stand point. But when I found myself declaring “I hate this” I had to stop and remind myself that the stats have really not changed much 99.9% of us will never really hit it big and since I do enjoy writing perhaps that is its purpose: enjoyment. Letting go of the daily frustration at not being where I thought I deserved to be was making me lose the original joy I had. And I am too old to let go of the few joys that remain to me! Write. And enjoy it.

  2. isabelleconnors1
    Sep 10, 2015 @ 15:59:09

    I will definitely let you know when I find that magical secret. But you’re right. Most of us will never make it as big as some persons have. But, I do enjoy writing and I do enjoy when my readers send messages of encouragement. Or that they love the book. It all makes it worth it. But, I’m happy to realize I’m not the only one who has gotten frustrated with the situation! So, thank you for sharing!😬😬

Leave a Reply

Member of The Internet Defense League

